About Us


AACN Announces 2021 Election Results for Board of Directors and Nominating Committee – Newswise

Posted: February 11, 2021 at 6:55 am

Newswise WASHINGTON, D.C., February 10, 2021 TheAmerican Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)is pleased to announce the results of its 2021 election to fill seats on the AACN Board of Directors and Nominating Committee. With votes cast by member deans from the nations nursing schools with baccalaureate and higher degree programs, those selected to serve as AACNs top leaders include Lin Zhan (Treasurer) from the University of Memphis; Pier Broadnax from the University of the District of Columbia; Jean Giddens from Virginia Commonwealth University; Deborah Jones from the University of Texas Medical Branch; Susan Mullaney from UnitedHealth Group (practice representative); and Demetrius Porche from Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center New Orleans. New members of AACNs Nominating Committee include Nancy Fahrenwald from Texas A&M University, Shirleatha Lee from the University of South Carolina Upstate, and Linda Thompson from the University of Massachusetts Boston.On behalf of AACNs diverse membership, I applaud this distinguished group of leaders for their strong commitment to advancing excellence and innovation in nursing education, research, and practice, said AACN Board Chair Susan Bakewell-Sachs, PhD, RN, FAAN. I look forward to collaborating with the new and returning members to magnify AACNs impact on improving health, health care, and higher education.AACN is governed by a 14-member Board of Directors, which includes four elected officers (Chair, Chair-Elect, Treasurer, and Secretary), 7 at-large members representing schools of nursing, and 2 members representing practice. AACNs President and Chief Executive Officer also serves on the Board as an ex-officio member.With online ballots cast from January 5-29, those elected to the AACN Board and Nominating Committee will begin their terms of service following the business meeting at AACNsDeans Annual Meetingon March 23, 2021. New and re-elected Board members include:

Continuing members of the AACN Board of Directors include ChairSusan Bakewell-Sachsfrom Oregon Health and Science University; Chair ElectCynthia McCurrenfrom Grand Valley State University; SecretaryJean Leunerfrom Auburn University Montgomery;Victoria Niederhauserfrom the University of Tennessee Knoxville;Randolph Raschfrom Michigan State University;Jan Stromfrom Aurora University;Marjorie Wigginsfrom Maine Health System; andDeborah Trautman, AACN President and Chief Executive Officer.

The newly elected members to AACNs Nominating Committee include:

Other Nominating Committee members includeAnn Caryfrom Florida Gulf Coast University,Tracey Murrayfrom Coppin State University, andRita Trofinofrom Saint Francis University.


TheAmerican Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)is the voice for academic nursing representing more than 840 member schools of nursing at public and private institutions nationwide. AACNis the national voice for baccalaureate and graduate nursing education. AACN works to establish quality standards for nursing education; assists schools in implementing those standards; influences the nursing profession to improve health care; and promotes public support for professional nursing education, research, and practice. Learn more at aacnnursing.org. Learn more atwww.aacnnursing.org.

Follow this link:
AACN Announces 2021 Election Results for Board of Directors and Nominating Committee - Newswise

Related Post

No Comments

No comments yet.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.